The Sixth Sense

I was recently making a list of psychological thriller movies that I wanted to watch and happened to stumble upon this one.

The movie is about a child psychologist, Malcolm Crowe, who tries to help a troubled boy, Cole Sear, who can see and talk to dead people. The only reason Malcolm is determined to help this child is that the boy reminds him of a similar patient whom he had “failed to help”. It’s an innocent movie, not heart racing at all, with a surprise ending in the last five minutes of the movie which will definitely blow your mind.

However, the movie’s got me thinking from a different perspective since it had been revealed that Malcolm’s former patient who was also able to see dead people was diagnosed with various disorders. Allow me to explain my thoughts, there are two kinds of people ones who blame your sub-conscious/unconscious mind for dreams and the others who interpret your dreams from a religious point of view. As a psychology student and a firm believer in religion, I’m torn between interpreting my dreams as a projection of my sub/unconscious mind or if they have a religious explanation. What I’m saying is that this could be similar to the supernatural factor being depicted in the movie (I am not saying that dead people can be seen by certain people). I think that psychology as a scientific branch should consider incorporating different psyche into it, in order to understand

I think that psychology as a scientific branch should consider incorporating different psyche into it, in order to understand why individuals pin down certain explanations to situations; for example, Godly messages being sent through dreams.

 

-Watch the movie if you haven’t already and to understand what I’m trying to say.

6th sense

Leave a Reply

